How’re the hammies?

Hamsters’ average lifespan is between 2 and 3 years. Perhaps that explains why they do everything at top speed? They don’t have a long life to live – at least from our point of view.

My 11 hammies, a rundown:

Chiaroscurogang (2 years 27 days). To humans, this is equivalent to more or less 80 years.

My oldest seniors spend most of their time sleeping and less of wheel-turning. Isnobol’s white fur is already thinning and losing its luster. Ispidbol’s movements are now less snappy and much slower.

Panapanagang (1 year 6 months 23 days). New senior citizens (18 months for hamsters are considered seniors years).

Mochahontas is still grumpy at her age, but her bites are ‘moderated.’ Mochawonka is still very active and always wants to get out of his cage, still ‘wiggles’ when handled. Isnohontas is the biggest, and yet my most human-friendly female hamster. She sleeps a lot nowadays, seldom shows an interest to go out for an exercise.

PanapanaIIgang (1 year 4 months 23 days). This litter is only 60 days younger than their parents, Mochawonka and Isnohontas.

Like his father, Wigwam always wants to get out of his cage, jumps from an elevated position without hesitation. Teepee has a rounder but stouter body than her mother. She is not that bitey anymore.

Boolagang (1 year 1 month 16 days). Living offspring of Mochahontas. New ‘record breakers’ (you may want to check this out The Lupindilayks.

At more than one year old, Bebong II and Berio II (male counterparts of their late sisters Bebang-girdel and Beria-girdel) are still sharing cage and wheel, showing not any sign of squabble. Until now, they don’t exhibit any mood of hostility – I never hear any one of them clack their teeth. During their active hours, ‘escaping’ from their cages to explore the outside world is their prime obsession.

Chochobebes (10 months 17 days). These youngest hammies are the offspring of my oldest living hamster, Isnobol.

Syma is not that grumpy anymore, though apparently her mood shifts so easily when brought near Amboy whom she can still recognize as the younger brother she used to bully. Amboy remains the nervous type, but being a grown-up male, he is no longer afraid of any female hamster – his elder sister is not an exemption.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homebodyhubby.wordpress.com/2008/04/21/how%e2%80%99re-the-hammies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. di klikabol yung pix, di ko tuloy matitigang maigi😀 lam u nmn, malabo ang ilong ko😀

    btw, c tommy nga pla, nkawala din sa kulungan nya, last week pa, di na namin nakita,😦 di q na nachika sau kc lam ko nka hibern8 ka…

    ayoko na mag alaga😀 ayaw ko na din bumili, la talaga ko swerte,c kreemy na lang ang and2, yung binili ni dadi q, ewan ko kung nabuntis xa ni tommy, kc nakapag mate pa cla eh….

    ————————————————

    HBH-3X: Right click mo na lang tapos, select mo ‘view image’. Hindi ko pa naayos kasi nagmamadali ako kagabi nung ni-post ko yan sa ibang bahay.

    Kung hindi pa sya nakakalabas ng bahay at hindi pa natsutsugi ng aso o pusa, nasa sulok-sulok lang yang si Tommy.

    Si Kreemy, bilang ka 16 days from honeymoon nila…😆
    Kung hindi nabuntis…😦
    Sayang malayo ang mga hamsters ko dyan. Later kasi, ibibili ko na lang ng kanya-kanyang GF itong mga barako ko, ayoko nang mag-inbreed.

    Nandito ako ngayon sa isang internet cafe, ‘mine’…
    gusto ko na umuwi.😥 😛


    Sinubukan ko gawin yung instruction ko sa first paragraph nito reply ko — liit pa rin? sowee… ayusin ko na nga lang. 😳

    Eyun na ‘minyang’ — kaya lang konti din lang ang inilaki,
    kasi hindi yan naka-upload sa Flickr.

  2. naku, senxa ka na ha, napahirapan pa kita😀
    lam u nmn ako, bisyo ko maningin ng pix.
    kyut kyut ni mochahontas, mukang ung nanghaharbat ng gulay sa palengke!😆

    tenkyu😳

    ————————————————

    HBH-3X: no problem, ‘mine’… talaga naman gagawin ko klikabol yan e.

    harbat? 🙄 may alam na naman ako bago term. 😆

  3. ang ku cute pa rin nila.. huwaw.. ahehehe!

    na miss ko din sila ha..

    ————————————————

    KTB: Yan ang maganda sa mga pets ay — maski matanda na yung iba, cute pa rin lahat. Si Lolo uncle Ispidbol, sabi ni misis, mukha pa ring totoy. 😛


Leave a Reply

